Raking leaves

Sweeping the autumn leaves,
The cold breeze shakes some apart,
Sometimes brings them together.
Tears in my eyes.
How will we face these memories?
Where do they come from?
Are they different?
Was my youth a dream?
Who fed me with her breast?
All is covered up by an uncertain fog.
I rake mounds of leaves…
A squirrel jumps in a fleeting dance.
A hawk´s shadow shoots through the air,
I hear a faraway cry…
From nowhere.
Now I have formed a large mound of leaves,
Time to burn.
The fire burns eagerly,
No desire to know…
I join the smoke in its climb,
At first I see the path beyond the temple,
After, the clouds and the sky,
The dark patch below falls farther away,
After…beyond, farther…don´t know…
Great silence.

About dom/rep/all

My residence and home country is in the Dominican Republic. I am a retired college professor and human resources manager. I am in the marke
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment